iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad Apps Search Engine
iPhone Apps Users Community
Advanced search | Example: action games
iPhone apps

Calamity Town (by Ellery Queen)

Calamity Town (by Ellery Queen)
  • #: 5472
  • Price: $9.99 In Apple Store
  • Category: Books
  • Updated: 2010-11-04
  • Current Version: 1.5
  • 1.5
  • Size: 247.00 MB
  • Language: English
  • Seller: Blackstone Audio, Inc
  • Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.2 or later
  • Copyright©2009-2010 Blackstone Audio. Portions copyright©2009-2010 by Folium Partners.
  •  Add to Favorite apps

 

Description

CALAMITY TOWN by Ellery Queen (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below).

“This book should make every detective story reader an Ellery Queen fan. He has never written a better book and very few people have written as good a detective novel.” (Boston Globe)

No family in Wrightsville is more respected than the Wrights. Daddy Wright is the town banker; Momma Wright is the town's social lioness; daughter Patricia the town beauty, Nora the town recluse, Lola the town scandal. Ellery Queen must discover which of them is the town poisoner.

Self-contained, this audiobook app is perfect for your commute, on a trip, or while relaxing. Based on a library-quality recording, this app was built especially for your iPhone and iPod Touch. No unreadable text, no endless scrolling on a tiny screen. The audio is of higher-than-normal quality, making for a great listening experience that will not tire your ears or grate on your nerves.

NOTICE: This app includes the exact same 5-star recording offered elsewhere at much higher prices. It was professionally recorded by Blackstone Audio’s narrator, Scott Harrison. You are not buying yet another amateur or volunteer narration. No clicks, background noises, throat clearing, mispronunciations, tinny voices or monotones will be found here.

• EXPERIENCE. About 10 hours of narration. Created as a Folium enhancedAudio™ edition, this book includes extra functions and features not found on lesser players.

• PLAYER CONTROLS. Includes listen (play), pause, multi-speed fast forward/reverse, jump ahead/back, chapter skip, volume control, one-touch chapter- and bookmark browser. There is also a “scrub” bar that finds any point inside the chapter with just a tap.

• SLEEP TIMER. Have you ever fallen asleep watching TV or listening to a book? If so, you'll love this feature. Once set, the book will stop, place a bookmark, and allow you to jump back to where you probably began dozing.

• CLEAR & ELEGANT DESIGN. Simple, clean, intuitive, and smarter than average.

• CHAPTER TIMINGS. Always know how much time it will take to finish a chapter. Plus, the progress bar at the top of the screen shows how far into the book you’ve come.

• OFFLINE LISTENING. You are airplane-ready! Once downloaded, listen uninterrupted without threat from a lost network connection. Downloads are usually just 5-10 minutes, but depend upon your network speed.

• AUTO-BOOKMARKING. The player remembers where you stopped listening and returns to that exact spot when you open the book again.

• TELL-A-FRIEND. An easy way to recommend the book to your friends or Twitter feed.

• FEEDBACK. Share your ideas for books, functions, and features. We are very responsive to our listeners and appreciate all feedback and ideas.

RATING: Suitable for fans of Ellery Queen novels or Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, and other stories of mystery and suspense.

_

Wrightsville is a typical American town, buried in the great American heartland, up to its neck in good old American corn. Naturally enough, no family in town is more respected than the one named the Wrights. Daddy Wright is the town banker; Momma Wright is the town's social lioness; daughter Patricia the town beauty, Nora the town recluse, Lola the town scandal.

Ellery Queen likes sophistication, savoir faire, and all the swinging assets of Manhattan and its environs. So what is he doing in this unearthly place? It’s this famous detective's job to find out which of the Wrights is the town poisoner. Matching wits with a diabolically cunning and ruthless killer, he is eventually forced to defend himself against the murder charge.

Video Reviews

No video review.

Customer reviews

Write a Review

Be the first to review this app. Write a Review

Forum

Ask a question

Be the first question this app.

Users Community

+ Connect to community


The information may be outdated (2011-03-27 03:50:16). For actual information go to iTunes

Related to «Calamity Town (by Ellery Queen)» applications

The Siamese Twin Mystery (by Ellery Queen)

The Siamese Twin Mystery (by Ellery Queen)

THE SIAMESE TWIN MYSTERY by Ellery Queen (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below).There were two corpses. Two clues. Two strange youths turned into one. Two brilliant solutions that turned out to be wrong. And… more

Price: $9.99 | Category: Books
Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine

Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine

Published since 1941, Ellery Queens Mystery Magazine is America's oldest and most celebrated crime-fiction publication. "The best mystery magazine in the world, bar none, " states Stephen King. Featured in its pages are short stories by the worlds leading writers of suspense. The… more

Price: free | Category: Lifestyle
The Biggest Game in Town by Al Alvarez

The Biggest Game in Town by Al Alvarez

The Biggest Game in TownAl AlvarezPicadorFebruary 3 2009Al Alvarez touched down in Las Vegas one hot day in 1981, a dedicated amateur poker player but a stranger to the town and its crazy ways. For three mesmerizing weeks he witnessed some of the monster high-stakes games that could only have… more

Price: $14.99 | Category: Books
In Our Town by William Allen White - ZyngRule ebook

In Our Town by William Allen White - ZyngRule ebook

And then followed half a column of most violent abuse of the Democrats who had charge of the affair. Jimmy did not appear on the street that night, but the next morning, when he came down, the office was crowded with indignant Democrats "stopping the paper."We began to feel uneasy about… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
Cape Town by Gulliver's Guides

Cape Town by Gulliver's Guides

"One of the most user-friendly travel apps we've tested so far; highly recommended" SE Asia Travel MagazineSmall guides for Big Travellers - the Gulliver's Guides are easy-to-use travel guides at your fingertips. We've designed this travel app so that you can get your… more

Price: free | Category: Travel
Unitarian Christianity by William Ellery Channing

Unitarian Christianity by William Ellery Channing

Unitarian ChristianityBy William Ellery Channing"Unitarianism is the belief in the single personality of God, in contrast to the doctrine of the Trinity (three persons in one God). It is the philosophy upon which the modern Unitarian movement was based, and, according to its proponents, is the… more

Price: $3.99 | Category: Books

The Faerie Queene [ By: Edmund Spenser ]

About the BookThe Faerie QueeneThe poem celebrates and memorializes the Tudor dynasty (of which Elizabeth was a part), much in the tradition of Virgil's Aeneid's celebration of Augustus Caesar's Rome. Like the Aeneid, which states that Augustus descended from the noble sons of Troy, … more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
Brood of the Witch-Queen, by Sax Rohmer

Brood of the Witch-Queen, by Sax Rohmer

Brood of the Witch-Queenby Sax RohmerThere was sincerity in the appeal, spoken in the softest, most silvern tone which he had ever heard. He stood beside the veiled woman, and met the glance of her dark eyes with a consciousness of some magnetic force in the glance which seemed to set his nerves… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots by Carolly Erickson

Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots by Carolly Erickson

Memoirs of Mary Queen of ScotsCarolly EricksonSt. Martin's PressSeptember 1 2009In this dramatic, compelling fictional memoir Carolly Erickson lets the courageous, spirited Mary Queen of Scots tell her own storyand the result is a novel readers will long remember.Born Queen of Scotland, … more

Price: $12.99 | Category: Books

View all related to: Calamity Town (by Ellery Queen) applications



Mobile Version
iApps4you.com - is iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad apps search engine and not been authorized, sponsored or approved by Apple Inc.
Copyright © 2017 iApps4you.com.
63 ms.